top of page

Memorial Stones


‘Because the waters of the Jordan were cut off before the ark of the covenant of the Lord; when it crossed the Jordan, the waters of the Jordan were cut off.’ So these stones shall become a memorial to the sons of Israel forever.” Joshua 4:7


Joshua had commanded God's people to place these stones by the Jordan to remember what God has done for them. The faithfulness He demonstrated to the people of Israel. His grace in leading them from Egypt. His provision all those years in the dessert. His guidance and faithfulness to the Promised Land. Those stones were to be teaching points from one generation to the next. It was to share about the goodness of God. I want to share with you about a particular memory stone in my life.


As difficult times come into one's life it is easy to look at all the things that went wrong to lead you to this very moment. However, it is in those trying times that we should look back to all the areas God has come through and been faithful in our life leading up to this moment. As I look at our current situation and near future it's easy to point fingers and assign blame to situations that contributed to your current reality. What takes a bit more thought and prayer is reflecting back on God's goodness and grace. I am reminded of all the times that God showed up and the immense number of doors and hurdles that seemed effortless to overcome in getting us to Alaska. One in particular was selling of my car in Arizona.


As I was preparing for the move north one major part was the selling of my little hatchback. I had tried so many different apps and websites to sell it though to no avail. This went on for well over a month with not a single reply to a very fair price I was seeking. One day as preparations continued, I was cleaning out the garage. I took the trash can to the end of the drive. It was at that moment walking past my little grey hatch that the Holy Spirit pressed on me that I had not included God in my efforts. I stopped in that moment and prayed not only for God to bring me a buyer but to give me exactly what I need for it, not what I was asking.


The NEXT DAY I got a message from a guy in Tuscon who was interested. We scheduled a meet up for a test drive. We met at a little gas station halfway in between Casa Grande and Tuscon. He took a spin and really enjoyed the car. After walking around the car, he said ""what you're asking seems fair if it was in "perfect" condition, but this isn't"". He was right there a few quirks with the car. He offered me $1000 less than I was asking. I had immediately remembered the prayer I prayed yesterday about trusting God to give me exactly what I needed for the car. I agreed and we did the deal. The story doesn't end there.


Nicole and I had to come down the next day to Tucson the next day to complete the transaction. The day prior she had an appointment that kept her from being able to come with me. That night we discussed the deal and I shared with her the prayer I had and the price I agreed to. Nicole has for the better part of our relationship been the one who balances the books. She said to me the amount we had agreed to is exactly what we needed for some of our moving expenses.


I share the single story which is only one of many like this in out move to Alaska because it is one memory stone I hold onto that reminds me of how faithful God is. He cares for me, my family and the people we are serving. I know without a shadow of a doubt His call on my life into ministry is one that changed my life forever. I am committed to following Him wherever He leads me. I will continue to stack these memorial stones in my heart to remember God's goodness in times of trouble.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page